The Yahoo Finance portfolio alternative with no ads
Transaction-level tracking across your brokers and currencies, with FX on the trade date and dividends net of withholding tax. Your portfolio and wallet data is encrypted on your device, and there are no advertising trackers in the app.
14 days of everything · Then a free plan that never expires · Export on every plan
Turbobulls if you want your portfolio and your spending encrypted on your device, fed by EU broker statements, with FX on the trade date and dividends net of withholding tax, ad-free on every plan.
Yahoo Finance for market news, analyst commentary, quotes and research. It is free, and nothing here does that job.
On price: Turbobulls from €3.99 a month billed yearly, or free. Yahoo Finance is free with ads; Bronze is $7.95 a month billed yearly. Checked September 2026.
What a tracker adds
What you actually earned
What the return is made of
Since the first buyYour portfolio against the index
Return by year
You VWCE* Part of the year: the range starts or ends inside it.
What moved the result
Since the first buyOne number, in the currency you think in
Spending sits next to the portfolio
14 days of everything, no card. Or click around the read-only demo first, on sample data.
Switching from Yahoo Finance
- Step 1
Save your Recovery Key
Save the Recovery Key when you create the workspace: we cannot read your data, so we also cannot reset a forgotten password, and the Recovery Key is the way back in. - Step 2
Get a statement from each broker
A statement from the broker is the record everything else was derived from, and it is where Turbobulls has dedicated adapters: Interactive Brokers activity statements, Trading 212, DEGIRO, Coinbase, Crypto.com, Delta, eToro, Saxo, Tastytrade, Trade Republic, Avanza, Montrose, XTB, TradeVille, Investimental and Revolut, with ING Romania, Raiffeisen Romania, Salt Bank and Revolut's bank statements on the bank side. Any other broker goes through the generic CSV mapper, where you match the columns once. - Step 3
Import one broker at a time
Then import one broker at a time and check the holdings against the statement before the next. The preview marks duplicates before anything is written, and the commit is atomic, so a bad file never leaves you half-imported.
Plan for the part that changes. Yahoo Finance is where you read the market, and nothing here replaces that, so keep it open. What moves is the record of what you own: it comes in by statement, is encrypted on your device before it is stored, and leaves again by export on every plan, free included.
Do you even need a tracker?
Three questions. We will tell you when the answer is to stay on Yahoo.
Answer the three questions and a recommendation appears here.
- End-to-end
Encrypted on your device with AES-256 before it syncs. Your financial data reaches us as ciphertext.
- No ads
No advertising trackers in the app, on every plan including free.
- Free plan
Permanent, no card, nothing deleted when the trial ends.
- €3.99
Investing Pro x per month billed yearly, for the investing side on its own. The free plan under it is permanent, no card and no time limit, and Turbo Pro at €6.66/mo opens both sides.
Side by side
| Capability | Turbobulls | Yahoo Finance |
|---|---|---|
| Where they differ | ||
| What it is | A dedicated portfolio tracker. No news, no analyst commentary, no earnings calendar. | A financial news and market-data portal, which is the job Turbobulls does not do at all. |
| How it is funded | Subscription. No ads and no advertising trackers in the app, on every plan including free. | Free and advertising-supported; the paid tiers list an ad-free experience. Its privacy policy is the authority on its data practices. |
| Encryption | On-device AES-256-GCM, key derived from your password. Your portfolio and wallet data is stored as ciphertext. | Not encrypted on your device. TLS in transit, per its security page, and Yahoo holds the data. Its My Money article says “end-to-end encryption” without saying who holds the keys. |
| Multi-currency | 30+ currencies, FX applied on each transaction date, with capital and currency gain split apart on Investing Pro or Turbo Pro. | A portfolio can be shown in a chosen currency and cash transactions carry one. FX on each trade date and a capital-versus-currency split are not described. |
| Dividends | Imported per holding, income by month with a calendar, withholding tax recorded per payment so the figure is net. | Dividends are imported automatically once a holding is recorded, tracked as received and counted in realized gains. Withholding tax per payment and an income calendar are not described. |
| Portfolio analytics | ROI, money-weighted and time-weighted return on every plan, historical snapshots, and benchmarking against any ETF, stock or basket. | Realized and unrealized gains, with performance, volatility risk and diversification views on Bronze and above. Money-weighted and time-weighted return, historical snapshots and custom benchmarks are not described. |
| Broker imports | CSV and XLSX adapters for EU and Romanian brokers and banks, plus generic CSV with the columns mapped by hand. | Type transactions in, import a CSV on a desktop browser, or link a US brokerage account through Yodlee or Plaid. Adapters for specific broker statements are not described. |
| Expenses and budgeting | Spending, categories, savings rate, salary and net worth beside the portfolio, plus envelope budgeting on Spending Pro or Turbo Pro. | My Money, a free beta dashboard, tracks cash flow and net worth from linked bank, card, loan and investment accounts. No budgets in it, and availability outside the US is not stated. |
| Pricing | Turbo Pro at €6.66/mo billed yearly, or €7.99/mo. Investing Pro covers the investing side on its own at €3.99/mo billed yearly. A permanent free plan sits under both. | Free with ads, then Bronze $7.95 a month billed $95.40 yearly, Silver $19.95 and Gold $39.95 a month at yearly billing, in US dollars. |
| Where they agree | ||
| Transactions and cost basis | Every buy and sell with date, price, fees and quantity. Per-lot cost basis, splits applied retroactively. | Also supported, per its help centre: transactions, share lots on a first-in-first-out basis, cash, and realized and unrealized gain or loss. |
| Watchlists | Yes, capped at 10 entries on free. | Yes, and they are a core part of the product. |
For Yahoo Finance, that documentation is its help centre, plans page and legal pages. The Turbobulls column describes Turbo Pro, the plan that covers both the investing and the spending side; the free plan is capped and keeps a working slice of each paid section. Everything in the Yahoo Finance column comes from its own pages, read in September 2026, and every negative rests on what those pages say; they are listed in the footer. Yahoo Finance may have changed since this was compiled. Yahoo’s own pages are the authoritative source.
14 days of everything, no card. If you never pay, you keep a free plan that never expires, and nothing is deleted.
The long version
A news portal that tracks portfolios, and a portfolio tracker
Yahoo Finance is a widely used financial news and market-data product. It also does real portfolio tracking: per its help centre you can record transactions and share lots, dividends are imported automatically, it shows realized and unrealized gains, and a portfolio can be built by CSV import or, in the US, by linking a brokerage account. Anyone telling you it is only a watchlist is overselling the gap.
So the honest comparison is not tracker versus no tracker. It is about how the product is funded and who can read your data, how it handles several brokers and several currencies, and whether your spending is entered and encrypted by you or pulled from linked accounts.
It is also worth saying plainly: Turbobulls has no market news, no analyst commentary and no earnings calendar, and none of that is planned. If you read Yahoo Finance every morning, nothing here replaces it. Many people run both, and that is a perfectly sensible answer to this page.
Tracking a portfolio at the transaction level
Turbobulls records every buy and sell with date, price, fees and quantity. From there it calculates cost basis per lot, tracks realised and unrealised gains separately, and applies stock splits retroactively so historical records stay accurate.
Where the two diverge is multi-currency and multi-broker. Turbobulls applies the FX rate on each transaction date rather than today’s rate, and on Investing Pro or Turbo Pro splits each gain into the part that came from the asset and the part that came from the exchange rate. The same holding at two brokers is one line with the per-broker split still available. If you hold in one currency at one broker, that machinery matters less.
And Turbobulls puts your spending, salary, cash accounts and debt in the same encrypted account, reporting net worth across all of it. Yahoo Finance’s My Money, labelled beta, does cash flow and net worth from linked bank, card, loan and investment accounts, per its help centre. What My Money’s pages do not describe is budgeting, or whether it is available outside the US.
How each product is funded
Yahoo FinanceYahoo Finance is offered to consumers as a free, advertising-supported product, alongside paid subscription tiers that list an ad-free experience. How Yahoo collects, processes and shares user data is described in Yahoo’s own privacy policy and cookie notice, which are the authoritative sources on the question. We are not going to characterise them for you: if this matters to your decision, read them directly. On encryption, Yahoo’s security page describes TLS in transit, and its My Money article says “end-to-end encryption” without saying who holds the keys. It is not encrypted on your device: no Yahoo page describes a key that only you hold.
TurbobullsWhat we can state is our own side. Turbobulls is ad-free and funded by subscription. Holdings, transactions and performance data are encrypted on your device with AES-256-GCM before being sent, under a key derived from your password using PBKDF2, and the platform is designed so that not even Turbobulls can read them. Analytics inside the app are explicit events only: no autocapture, no session recording, no advertising trackers, and nothing sold. That holds on every plan, including the free one.
An advertising-supported product is a reasonable trade for many people reading market news. It is a different question when the data is your complete financial position. See exactly how the encryption works, including what we can still see.
Dividends, and what happens to each payment
Yahoo Finance tracks dividends at portfolio level. Per its help centre, once you record a holding’s transaction its dividends are imported automatically, tracked as dividends received, deposited into the portfolio’s cash and counted in realized gains. Stock pages carry the ex-dividend date and forward yield as well, which is useful for research, and Turbobulls is not a research tool.
Where the two part is what happens to each payment. Turbobulls imports dividends for supported instruments and presents income by month in a calendar, including payments declared but not yet paid, which stay out of your totals until they land. Withholding tax is recorded per payment, so the figure shown is net and in your base currency. Neither a withholding-tax entry per payment nor a monthly income calendar is described in Yahoo’s public materials as of September 2026.
The full calendar and the yield figures, yield on cost and current yield, are on Investing Pro or Turbo Pro; the free plan keeps the last three months. Income can be traced to the positions contributing most of it, and dividends feed the return breakdown rather than sitting in a view of their own.
Analytics
Yahoo Finance’s portfolio computes realized and unrealized gains from your transactions, per its help centre, and its plans page lists portfolio performance, volatility risk and diversification views from Bronze up, with advanced charts, 50+ technical chart patterns and screeners higher up the ladder. Money-weighted and time-weighted return, historical snapshots and benchmarks of your own choosing are not described in its public materials as of September 2026.
Turbobulls provides ROI, money-weighted return and time-weighted return on every plan. MWR tells you what your wallet actually earned; TWR tells you how the strategy performed regardless of when you put money in. Without both you cannot cleanly separate a poor strategy from poor timing. Historical snapshots let you view the portfolio as it stood on any date, rebuilt from your own transactions. Benchmarking runs against any ETF, stock or basket you add, one on free and no limit on Investing Pro or Turbo Pro.
Behind those sits the Overview’s All figures card: its growth and return figures, wealth velocity, growth rate (CAGR) and time-weighted return among them, are on every plan. The risk and efficiency figures open on Investing Pro or Turbo Pro, among them the Sharpe ratio, maximum drawdown, return volatility and MOIC. Allocation by asset type, broker, currency and tag is on every plan; sector, industry, country and region are paid.
Getting your data in
Yahoo Finance’s help centre describes three ways to build a portfolio: type transactions in, import a CSV, which it says can only be done from a desktop browser, or link a brokerage account through Yodlee or Plaid, which it states is available in the US only. What its public materials do not describe, as of September 2026, are adapters for specific broker statements or the columns the CSV expects. Turbobulls ships CSV and XLSX adapters, among them Interactive Brokers activity statements, Trading 212, DEGIRO, eToro, Revolut, ING Romania and many more, with a bias towards EU and Romanian institutions and more on the way, plus generic CSV with manual mapping.
You pick the broker and upload the file, and if the file does not match the adapter you picked, the app points you at the one it does match. The import preview flags duplicates before anything is written, and the commit is atomic: an import either lands in full or not at all. Files are parsed in your browser and encrypted before anything is sent.
Turbobulls does not connect to brokers automatically; imports are file-based, which is what encrypting on the device requires. Yahoo Finance links brokerage accounts in the US, per its help centre, and outside the US its documented routes are typing transactions in or importing a CSV. CSV and Excel export are available on every plan, free included; Yahoo exports a portfolio as CSV from a desktop browser, with basic fields such as symbols, prices and dates.
Where each one is weaker
- No market news, analyst commentary or earnings calendar
- No stock research or screening tools
- No automatic broker connections
- Costs money once the trial ends, if you want the caps lifted
- The free plan is genuinely capped: 10 holdings, 3 accounts, 2 brokers
- Consumer product is advertising-supported; the ad-free experience is a paid-tier feature
- Not encrypted on your device; its security page describes TLS in transit, and Yahoo holds the data
- Spending and net worth come from linked accounts in My Money, labelled beta; no budgets in it, and availability outside the US is not stated
- Brokerage linking is US only, per its help centre; CSV import is desktop-browser only, and adapters for specific broker statements are not described
- Withholding tax per dividend, FX on the transaction date and a capital-versus-currency split are not described in its public materials as of September 2026
From the September 2026 review of Yahoo’s help centre, plans page and legal pages. Yahoo’s own pages are the authority.
What it costs
Or €4.79 a month billed monthly. Annual billing is two months free. Cancel anytime. Under it sits a permanent free plan, no card and no time limit, and above it Turbo Pro at €6.66/mo opens both the investing and the spending side.
- Opens the investing side on its own: unlimited holdings, trades, brokers, benchmarks and watchlist, the whole dividend calendar, the risk and efficiency figures and the allocation breakdowns. The spending side stays exactly at free-plan depth, never less.
- Turbo Pro at €6.66 a month billed yearly lifts every cap and opens every section on both sides
- Spending Pro x does the same the other way round, at €2.99 a month billed yearly
- Ad-free and encrypted on every plan, free included
- Card, PayPal, Apple Pay or Google Pay via Stripe
No card, and nothing to cancel if you stay on free.
The consumer product is advertising-supported. As checked in September 2026 on its plans page, in US dollars, paid tiers were Bronze at $7.95, Silver at $19.95 and Gold at $39.95 a month, all shown at yearly billing (Bronze billed $95.40 a year); monthly-billed rates did not render.
- A free plan, per its help centre: real-time data, breaking news, price alerts and watchlists, with the portfolio documented without a paid-plan requirement
- Bronze lists portfolio performance, volatility risk, diversification, community sentiment and an ad-free experience
- Yearly billing advertised at 20% off; Gold listed with a 7-day free trial
- Prices are set by Yahoo and can change



